30mph Exceptions

20mph Speed Limits

From 17 September 2023, the default speed limit in built up areas in Wales will reduce from 30mph to 20mph.

The council has applied for a number of exceptions where the speed limit will remain at 30mph.

Temporary traffic orders, known as Experimental Traffic Regulation Orders, will be implemented along these within a week of being advertised and 30mph signs will be in place.

The orders can be in place for 18 months during which time the Council will assess if the decision to keep the speed limit at 30mph is working.

Cabinet members have since recommended numbers 34 and 35 are reviewed in consultation with local members.

The exemptions are:

  1. Newport Road (from Rougemont roundabout to Llantarnam Parkway roundabout)
  2. Llantarnam Park Way (from Newport Road to Cwmbran Drive)
  3. Newport Road (from Llantarnam Road to Crown roundabout)
  4. Llantarnam Road (from Court Road to Llanfrechfa Way)
  5. Llanfrechfa Way (from Llantarnam Road to entrance of Northfields skate park)
  6. B4236 Caerleon Road (from Turnpike roundabout to Twmbarlwm View, including The Grange roundabout)
  7. Henllys Way (from Llantarnam Road to A4051 Cwmbran Drive roundabout)
  8. Henllys Way (from A4051 Cwmbran Drive roundabout to Cocker Avenue)
  9. Ty Coch Way (for its entire length)
  10. Hollybush Way (from Two Locks Road roundabout to approximately 100m south east of the Cemetery junction)
  11. Hollybush Way (from Two Locks Road roundabout to Henllys Way roundabout)
  12. Henllys Way (from Hollybush Way roundabout to Stevelee)
  13. Henllys Way (from Hollybush Way roundabout to Ty Gwyn Way roundabout);
  14. Penylan Way (for its entire length)
  15. Ty Gwyn Way (from Henllys Way roundabout for approximately 486m in a north westerly direction)
  16. Ty Gwyn Way (from Marlborough Road to Greenmeadow Way roundabout)
  17. Thornhill Road (from Ty Gwyn Way to Aran Court)
  18. Greenforge Way (from Greenmeadow Way roundabout to Springvale roundabout)
  19. Greenforge Way (from Springvale roundabout to A4051 Cwmbran Drive, including Springvale roundabout)
  20. Springvale Way (from Greenforge Way roundabout to Maendy Way roundabout)
  21. Maendy Way (from Bryn Celyn Road, including Springvale Way roundabout and Chapel Road roundabout, to Caradoc Road)
  22. A4051 Cwmbran Drive link road (from Chapel Street to Woodside Road)
  23. Caradoc Road (from its intersection with Maendy Way to Morrisons roundabout)
  24. Llywelyn Road (from Maendy Way to Tudor Road roundabout) Llantarnam & Pontnewydd
  25. Tudor Road (from St David’s Road roundabout to A4051 Cwmbran Drive, including Llywelyn Road roundabout)
  26. Edlogan Way (from Morrisons roundabout to Woodland Road roundabout)
  27. St Davids Road (from Llanfrechfa Way roundabout to Station Road, including Tudor Road roundabout and Morrisons roundabout)
  28. Avondale Road (from Station Road to Pontrhydyrun Road)
  29. A4051 Cwmbran Drive (from approximately 100m south west of Bevans Lane roundabout for approximately 629m in a southerly direction)
  30. Newport Road (from Rechem roundabout for approximately 486m in an easterly direction) Panteg and New Inn
  31. Newport Road (from Newport Road for a distance of approximately 650m in a southerly direction, past Pimlico, Pontypool
  32. Pontyfelin Road (For its entire length) Panteg
  33. Old Crumlin Road (from Twmpath Road to Parkes Lane) Pontypool
  34. B4246 (from Gladstone Terrace to Kears Row) Abersychan
  35. A4043 Cwmavon Road (from Ffrwd Road for approximately 1393m in a northerly direction) Abersychan
  36. B4246 Abergavenny Road (from Rifle Street to King Street) Blaenavon
Last Modified: 14/02/2023
For more information contact:

Highways & Traffic

Email: highways.transportation@torfaen.gov.uk

Back to top