Conservation Areas

A Conservation Area is an area of special architectural or historic interest. There are currently six Conservation Areas in Torfaen. These are Blaenavon Town Centre, Pontypool Town Centre, Llantarnam, Upper Cwmbran and Cwmavon and the Monmouthshire and Brecon Canal.

The Council designated each Conservation Area to help preserve and enhance its special character and appearance. Each area is identified and designated following a detailed assessment of the quality of the area including the contribution of key individual or groups of buildings, trees, open spaces and streetscape.

Within Conservation Areas, the Council has a statutory duty to preserve and enhance the character of the area. Conservation Area designation affords the Council an additional layer of control over development to ensure that all development improves and enhances its character and appearance. The Council will carefully consider the form, design and detail of development proposals and the likely impact on the character of the Conservation Area.

Maps illustrating the boundaries of each area can be obtained from the Planning Department Administration Team on 01633 647319 / 647321 / 647326 / 647324.

Last Modified: 06/07/2022
For more information contact:

Urban Regeneration

Tel: 01633 648288

Back to top