The Educational Psychology Service

Each school in Torfaen has a named educational psychologist who works with the school.

Educational Psychologists work closely with teachers and parents, as well as other professionals involved in the care of children, to help children who are having difficulties with learning and general development (including reading, writing, spelling and numbers), emotions and behaviour, or difficulties with making good relationships with other children and with adults.

They aim to bring about positive changes for children and young people to help them make better progress in learning. They undertake assessments, work directly with the young people and provide advice to school staff on the management of difficulties. They also provide training for those who work with children and young people.

Permission is always sought for parents/carers prior to the involvement of an Educational Psychologist and are always informed of the arrangements for working with the child. Parents/carers may be asked into school for all or part of the visit and are provided with a copy of any report written following the visit.

If you would like to know more about the role of the educational psychologist, the SENCo at the school will be able to give you further information.

Contact details for our Educational Psychologists are:

Alyson Costa – Senior Educational Psychologist
Email: alyson.costa@torfaen.gov.uk

Hilary Hayward - Senior Educational Psychologist (Families First Team)
Email: hilary.hayward@torfaen.gov.uk

Julie Casey – Senior Specialist Educational Psychologist for Behaviour
Email: julie.casey@torfaen.gov.uk

Sam O'Shaughnessy - Area Educational Psychologist
Email: samantha.o’shaughnessy@torfaen.gov.uk

Georgina Doutre – Educational Psychologist
Email: georgina.doutre@torfaen.gov.uk

Meinir Evans - Area Educational Psychologist
Email: meinir.evans@torfaen.gov.uk

Janet Robins – Area Educational Psychologist
Email: janet.robins@torfaen.gov.uk

Jennifer Price – Administrative Support
Tel: 01633 648413
Email: jennifer.price@torfaen.gov.uk

Last Modified: 05/12/2018
For more information contact:

Inclusion Service

Tel: 01495 766929 or 01495 766968

Back to top