2020/21 Torfaen Council AGM

Posted on: Tuesday 20 October 2020

At the annual general meeting (AGM) of Torfaen council on Tuesday 20th of October, all the key political appointments to the council's cabinet, committees and outside bodies were confirmed for the year ahead. 

The AGM takes place annually in May but was postponed this year due to COVID-19.

Cllr Jessica Powell stood down from the role as Presiding Member so the first act of the AGM was to appoint a new Presiding Member and Deputy Presiding Member for the municipal year 2020/21, to chair Council meetings. 

Cllr Rose Seabourne was elected as the council’s Presiding Member and Cllr Peter Jones was elected as Deputy Presiding Member. 

Following nominations for the position of Leader of the Council, Cllr Anthony Hunt received 26 votes, Cllr Ron Burnett 8 votes and Cllr Elizabeth Haynes 4 votes and Cllr Anthony Hunt was re-elected. Cllr Richard Clark was re-elected as Deputy Leader of the Council and will also hold the portfolio for Education. 

Cabinet members have been appointed to the following portfolios for the year ahead:

  • Executive Member for Education – Cllr Richard Clark
  • Executive Member for Children, Families & Communities – Cllr Fiona Cross
  • Executive Member for Environment – Cllr Mandy Owen
  • Executive Member for Resources - Cllr Kelly Preston
  • Executive Member for Corporate Governance & Performance – Cllr David Yeowell
  • Executive Member for Adult Services & Housing - Cllr David Daniels
  • Executive Member for Economy, Skills & Regeneration - Cllr Joanne Gauden

The Chairs of Committees will be:

  • Chair of the Healthier Communities O&S Committee - Cllr Richard Overton
  • Chair of the Prosperous Communities O&S Committee - Cllr Gwyn Jenkins
  • Chair of the Cleaner Communities O&S Committee – Cllr Peter Jones
  • Chair of the Children and Young People O&S Committee - Cllr Rose Seabourne
  • Chair of the Cross-cutting Resources & Business O&S Committee - Cllr Stuart Ashley
  • Chair of the Planning Committee - Cllr Norma Parrish
  • Chair of the Licensing Committee - Cllr Giles Davies
  • Chair of the Pensions Committee - Cllr Glyn Caron
  • Chair of the Democratic Services Committee - Cllr Ron Burnett
  • Chair of Audit Committee – to be elected by the committee


Last Modified: 20/10/2020 Back to top